Date: 18th April 2011 at 10:12am
Written by:

Brighton became the champions of League One with an emphatic win over Walsall

They’ve paid their dues time after time, they’ve done their sentence but committed no crime. Brighton & Hove Albion are the newly crowned champions of NPower League One after clinching the title in style with a 3-1 win away at Walsall.

2,300 Brighton fans made the journey and witnessed a great attacking performance which summed up the season as Elliott Bennett smashed in a late striker from 25 yards to seal the win that put Brighton 16 points clear ahead of Southampton, who only have 15 more points left to play for.

Brighton still have 4 games left to play, and the target now is to reach 100 points.

The Seagulls sit prettily at the top on 93 points, a club record haul, but the target is the century and remain unbeaten for the rest of the season, to carry on the momentum into Championship next season.

Poyet’s high flyers have a number of other club records in their sight:

Fewest league goals conceded:Club record in Football League is 34 – Albion conceeded 33 so far

Fewest league defeats: Club record is 6 – Albion currently on 5.

Most league wins: Club record is 29 – Albion currently on 28

Fewest home league defeats: Club record is 0 – Albion currently on 0

Most away league wins: Club record is 12 – Albion currently on 11.

Fewest away league goals conceded: Club record is 17 – Albion currently on 16 goals.

Most league points (under three points/win): Most is 92 – Albion currently on 93.

It’s been a tremendous season so far, with so many highlights. Manager Gus Poyet has gone on record as saying his two highlights were the victory away at Plymouth, which is the first time he could see the players believed in him and his style of football.

The second being the 3-1 win away at Peterborough. A game in which the high flying opposition were totally outclassed.

The League One trophy will be presented on Saturday 30th April, after Brighton’s last ever game at Withdean Stadium, before their move to the 22,500 American Express Community Stadium.

An open top bus parade has also been organised for Sunday 8th May 2011, the day after the final day of the season away at Notts County.

Elliott Bennett, Gordon Greer and Inigo Calderon have all be selected in The PFA League One team of the year, a team that was voted for by all the League One players and managers.

The full team:

Kelvin Davis – Southampton

Inigo Calderon – Brighton
Gordon Greer – Brighton
Jose Fonte – Southampton
Dan Harding – Southampton

Anthony Pilkington – Huddersfield
Adam Lallana – Southampton
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain – Southampton
Elliot Bennett – Brighton

Craig Mackail-Smith – Peterborough
Bradley Wright-Phillips – Charlton


One Reply to “Brighton Are The Champions”

  • A few of those records won’t be broken or matched after today’s game. As a football fan I am more than happy with the way you failed to beat us and look forward to repeating the medicine next season if we make it up with you.

Comments are closed.