Date: 23rd May 2017 at 8:46pm
Written by:

The League Managers’ Association held their 25th LMA Annual Awards Dinner on Monday evening and manager Chris Hughton was recognised for Brighton’s achievements this season.

Chelsea’s Antonio Conte lifted the overall Trophy on the night having led his side back to the Premier League title but it wasn’t the only award handed out on the night.

Chris Hughton took the Championship Manager of the Year Award following Brighton automatic promotion into the Premier League, Sheffield United’s Chris Wilder took the League One Award for their title win and promotion this season, with Portsmouth’s Paul Cook taking the League Two prize for their title win and promotion.

LMA Special Achievement Awards, sponsored by Prostate Cancer UK went to Wilder also, and Lincoln City manager Danny Cowley.

Speaking to the LMA Chairman Howard Wilkinson explained.

‘To be honoured by your peers for not merely the achievement itself but also the manner of the achievement cannot be bettered, and this year we have welcomed a new name to the list of top professionals who have won this prestigious accolade. For Antonio, to win the Premier League and reach the final of the FA Cup in his first season in England adds further lustre to the praise for a job well done. We are delighted he was able to join us this evening to collect his award and receive the credit from his peers he rightly deserves.’

Chief Executive, Richard Bevan, added.

‘The LMA congratulates the six managers who received awards at the LMA Annual Awards Dinner. Following years of dedication to the profession of coaching, Danny Cowley, Paul Cook, Chris Wilder and Chris Hughton have been instrumental in the successful promotions of their respective clubs this season and fully deserve the recognition from their fellow managers. We wish them all the very best of luck as they prepare for next season in their new leagues.’

For Hughton, it’s his second successive LMA Award following last season’s disappointment at narrowly missing out on automatic and then Play Off promotion and in his career it’s the third time he’s lifted this particular award as he won it back in 2010 after guiding Newcastle United to promotion.