Date: 21st April 2017 at 10:10pm
Written by:

This week the Professional Footballers Association announced their Championship Team of the Year for the season of 2016/17.

With a handful of games remaining in the current season, the PFA will be holding their 44th awards ceremony in London this Sunday (April 23).

Ahead of the event which will see the PFA Player and Young Player and the WSL Player and Young Player of the Year winners announced – Click Here for shortlists – the votes from PFA members from 100 clubs from the Premier League, Football League and Women’s Super League have been tallied to compile the divisional select XI’s for the campaign.

Not surprisingly given the battle at the top of the Championship this year, Brighton and Newcastle figure highly in the selection.

David Stockdale – Brighton
Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham
Jamal Lascelles – Newcastle United
Lewis Dunk – Brighton
Bruno – Brighton
Anthony Knockaert – Brighton
Jonjo Shelvey – Newcastle United
Aaron Mooy – Huddersfield Town
Tom Cairney – Fulham
Dwight Gayle – Newcastle United
Chris Wood – Leeds United

The other divisional Team of the Years were announced as.

Premier League
David de Gea – Manchester United
Kyle Walker – Tottenham Hotspur
Gary Cahill – Chelsea
Davis Luiz – Chelsea
Danny Rose – Tottenham Hotspur
Eden Hazard – Chelsea
Dele Alli – Tottenham Hotspur
N’Golo Kante – Chelsea
Sadio Mane – Liverpool
Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur
Romelu Lukaku – Everton

League One
Simon Moore – Sheffield United
James Meredith – Bradford City
David Wheater – Bolton Wanderers
Mark Beevers – Bolton Wanderers
Kieron Freeman – Sheffield United
John Fleck – Sheffield United
Erhun Oztumer – Walsall
Josh Morris – Scunthorpe United
Mark Duffy – Sheffield United
James Vaughan – Bury
Billy Sharp – Sheffield United

League Two
Luke McCormick – Plymouth Argyle
Enda Stevens – Portsmouth
Christian Burgess – Portsmouth
Sonny Bradley – Plymouth Argyle
Kelvin Mellor – Blackpool
Luke Berry – Cambridge United
Graham Carey – Plymouth Argyle
James Coppinger – Doncaster Rovers
Nicky Adams – Carlisle United
Danny Hylton – Luton Town
John Marquis – Doncaster Rovers