Date: 11th February 2011 at 9:18am
Written by:

Poyet’s men have entertained Brighton’s home fans, scoring in the last 19 games at Withdean Stadium.

If Brighton score tomorrow against Hartlepool United, they will have scored for the twentieth consecutive league game.

In recent years, goals and wins have been hard to come by, but Gus Poyet has got the high-flying Seagulls firing when it comes to scoring goals.

The run began last season on March 16th 2010, when Brighton beat Brentford 3-0, just three days after losing 1-0 to Swindon at Withdean.

Since then, The Seagulls have played 19 games scoring 40 goals on route to an impressive points haul of 44.

13 games have been won, with 5 drawn in a run that has only seen one defeat, a 2-1 defeat to Carlisle on 10th April 2010.

The biggest win was a 5-0 victory of Russell Slade’s Leyton Orient on New Years Day 2011.

14 players have contributed to the 40 goals, whilst Bristol Rovers added to the total with an own goal during the 2-2 draw in December 2010.

Glenn Murray leads the way with 9 goals in that time, including a hat trick during the 5-0 win over Orient.

The goal scorers during the run:

9 Glenn Murray
8 Ashley Barnes
5 Elliott Bennett
4 Chris Wood
3 Kazenga LuaLua
2 Inigo Calderon
1 – Fran Sandaza, Adam Virgo, Tommy Elphick, Craig Noone, Marcos Painter, Andrew Crofts, Nicky Forster, Adam El Abd, Own Goal

The only games Brighton have failed to score in, in that time were in the cup games. The Seagulls fired blanks against Leyton Orient in the Johnstone Paint Trophy, whilst non-league Woking held on for a clean sheet in the first round of The FA Cup.